Potok

Free voice input: what is really free and with what limits

Mark Vesyoly · founder of Potok · ~7 min

Potok transcribes Russian speech; this site has been translated into English for convenience.

Free voice input comes in two kinds: built-in system tools with no payment at all, and the free plans of paid services with a volume limit. Molvi, for example, is free forever, with no account, and recognizes speech right on the device; Talkpad gives 2500 words per week free on a computer. Potok (potok.now) gives 2500 words per week with no card, and the first 14 days give full access with no limits.

Free voice input is any way to dictate text without paying: from a button built right into the operating system to a trial or permanently free plan of a separate program. The difference between them is fundamental: some tools cost nothing at all and do not limit volume, while others are free only in part, up to a certain limit of words per week or month.

What free voice input is, in plain words

Free voice input exists in several forms at once, and they should not be confused: each has its own pluses and its own limits. The first is built-in system tools: Win+H in Windows and Dictation in macOS come with the system for free, nothing needs to be installed, and this is the simplest start for those who have not yet decided what to choose.

The second form is programs that are free forever, with no time limit on use. Molvi works without an account and without payment, recognizes speech right on the device with no network access, and this approach also removes the question of where the audio goes. A similar breakdown is in the material free voice input for Windows with no limits.

The third is the free plans of paid services, limited by volume: at Talkpad it is 2500 words per week on the desktop, at SpeakFlow and Diktuy it is 30 minutes of dictation per month, and at Lispr it is 60 minutes of dictation per week with a free personal dictionary and history even without an account. A breakdown of a specific case with a foreign service is in the material Wispr Flow for free.

Whether free voice input really exists with no limits at all as a class, and not as an advertising phrase on the site of a specific program, has a separate breakdown in the material free voice input with no limits: myth or reality.

All articles in this section (24): potok.now/besplatnyy-golosovoy-vvod

The most common tasks

Where Potok will not help

Potok will not help those who need free voice input with no volume limits at all: the free plan gives 2500 words per week, and for more active dictation you need the paid Pro subscription.

Potok is a cloud service, recognition runs on servers in Russia, and it does not work without the internet, so those who need to work fully offline should look at Molvi, WhisperU or Voisty instead.

Frequently asked questions

What is actually free in voice input?

Built-in system tools, Win+H in Windows 11 and Dictation in macOS, come with the system for free, and there is nothing to install. The free plans of individual programs are usually limited by the number of words or minutes per week or month, and some, like Molvi, are free forever with no limits at all.

Can I use several free voice input programs at the same time?

Technically yes, but hotkeys may coincide between programs, and then only one will work. It is easier to compare limits and features in advance and pick a main option, keeping the second program for tasks the first does not cover.

How much does the Pro subscription in Potok cost?

690 ₽ per month when paid monthly or 499 ₽ per month when paid for a year at once (5999 ₽ per year). Pro includes unlimited words, a personal dictionary of terms, voice snippets and priority support.

Is the free limit of 2500 words per week enough?

2500 words per week is on average about 350 words per day on one device: enough for short correspondence. For someone who dictates all day (a lot of text, documents), the limit is too small, and then it is worth looking at Pro with no word limit.

Which voice input services accept payment by a Russian card?

Not all of them: a number of foreign services accept payment only in dollars. For example, Wispr Flow on Windows and Mac has no standard payment by a Russian card. Potok accepts payment in rubles directly from a Russian card, which is one of the practical selection criteria for a user in Russia.

What happens to the text if the free weekly word limit is exceeded?

Text you have already dictated stays where it was inserted, in the field of your app. You can continue dictating beyond the free limit on a paid plan: with Potok's Pro there is no word limit; otherwise you wait until the weekly limit refreshes.

How to start

Potok is available for Windows, macOS and Linux. For two weeks everything is open for free, after that 2500 words per week without paying. Potok is a cloud service: speech is recognized on servers in Russia, and it does not work without the internet.

Download Potok

You dictate in the app, and recordings and voice messages are transcribed by @potok_now_bot in Telegram. 60 minutes per month are free; the Potok subscription removes the limit in the bot and in the app.

Related software: terms compared

Terms are taken from the services' official websites.
ServicePlatformsFreePricePayment from RussiaWhere speech is recognized
PotokWindows, macOS, LinuxFree: 2500 words per week; full access for the first 14 days, no card neededPro 690 ₽/mo, 499 ₽/mo when paid yearlyRussian bank cards, rublescloud, servers in Russia; internet required
SpeakFlowWindows, Web30 minutes of dictation per month, free forever690 ₽/mo (Personal (unlimited))rubles directlycloud (the data center country is not disclosed on the website) (not confirmed)
DiktuyWindows, macOS30 minutes of dictation per month, free forever239 ₽/mo (Profi (monthly equivalent when billed yearly)); 2870 ₽/yr (Profi (year, billed in full)); 479 ₽/mo (Max (monthly equivalent when billed yearly))rubles directly (not confirmed)cloud (the data center country is not disclosed on the website) (not confirmed)
TalkpadmacOS, Windows, Android2500 words/week on desktop, 1500 words/week on mobile, free forever; plus a 14-day Pro trial$6/mo (Pro (billed yearly, $72/yr)); $8/mo (Pro (monthly billing))unknown (not confirmed)cloud (the legal entity is registered in Australia; the website is hosted on Cloudflare; the exact location of the ASR servers is not disclosed in the privacy policy) (not confirmed)
VoistyWindows, macOS5 minutes of transcription (to judge the quality)$6.7/mo (Pro); $67/yr (Pro (year)); $99/one-time (Lifetime)Visa/Mastercard/Amex cards, PayPal; whether Russian cards are accepted is not stated (not confirmed)device (offline, local models such as Whisper Large V3 Turbo / NVIDIA Parakeet)
WhispeRuWindows7-day free trial (no card)290 ₽/mo (monthly license); 1990 ₽/yr (yearly license); 4990 ₽/one-time (lifetime license)rubles directly (payment via YooKassa)device (offline)
GigaTypeWindows, macOSfree with no limits: open source under the MIT license (Copyright (c) 2026 Disrupt Builders), all features are available without payment—not needed: there are no paid plansdevice (offline, Sber's GigaAM neural network)
MolviWindows, macOSfree forever, no accounts and no payment—not needed: the product is free; voluntary donations are accepted via Telegram Tribute or by card on the website, amounts are not fixeddevice (offline; best quality on an NVIDIA GPU, otherwise a fast model on the CPU)

Built-in dictation and Potok

Based on Microsoft and Apple help pages.
ToolWhere it worksRussian languageWhere speech is recognized
Windows voice typing (Win+H)Windows 10 and 11Windows 11 onlyMicrosoft cloud, does not work offline
macOS DictationmacOSyeson the device or on Apple servers
PotokWindows, macOS, Linuxprimary languagecloud, servers in Russia, does not work offline

Primary sources: speakflow.ru · speakflow.ru · speakflow.ru · blog.speakflow.ru

Mark Vesyoly — founder of Potok. Writes about Russian voice input: how to dictate in work apps, what gets in the way and how to fix it.
© Potok · Vladimir Olegovich Lipatnikov · INN 502915859701 · Public offer Comparisons · FAQ · About Free voice input · Voice input for AI chats · Data and Russian privacy law · Voice input on Mac · Bot plans · 14 days of Pro for a review