Software

Free voice input with no limits: myth or reality

Mark Vesyoly · founder of Potok · ~10 min

Potok transcribes Russian speech; this site has been translated into English for convenience.

In fact it is almost always a myth: most free programs have a hidden limit, from 30 minutes a month at SpeakFlow and Diktuy to a one-time 5-minute test at Voisty. Only Molvi is truly free without restrictions: a local program with no account and no payment. Potok (potok.now) gives 2500 words per week free, and after that a paid plan applies.

“Free and with no limits” is a phrase that often appears in ads for voice input programs, but anything can hide behind it: a one-time trial period, a limit in minutes or words per week, or a truly free product with no restrictions. Next: what these wordings mean for specific programs and how to check them yourself on the official price pages.

Words that appear in program descriptions

How to check manufacturers' promises

The promise “free with no limits” should be checked on the manufacturer's official price page, not on an advertising banner or in reviews: the wording there is more honest, because it is what determines what the user gets in practice.

The first step is to find the exact figure of the limit, not the general word “free”. If the plans page says just “free plan” with no numbers, that is a reason to be wary: most likely there is a limit, but it is not put in the foreground so as not to scare people off.

The second step is to tell a trial period from a permanent free plan. A trial period sooner or later ends and requires payment to keep working; a permanent limit has no end date but resets on a schedule, per week or per month, and is not about unlimited use in itself.

The third step is to look at where exactly speech recognition happens. Programs that process the voice right on the user's device, rather than sending it to the company's server, spend less money on infrastructure, and it is easier for them to keep an honestly free plan with no hidden limits than for cloud services that pay for every minute of recognition on their servers.

The fourth step is to check the payment method from Russia specifically: rubles directly, dollars through foreign processing, or a donation with no fixed amount are different scenarios, and the promise “free” does not cancel the question of what happens if the limit is not enough and you have to pay. These four steps take a couple of minutes but save you the disappointment of finding that “free” turned out in practice to be a limit of five minutes a month. How these criteria apply to the Russian language specifically is covered in the article voice input for Russian speech.

Prices and terms are taken from the services' official websites.
ServicePlatformsFreePricePayment from RussiaWhere speech is recognized
PotokWindows, macOS, LinuxFree: 2500 words per week; full access for the first 14 days, no card neededPro 690 ₽/mo, 499 ₽/mo when paid yearlyRussian bank cards, rublescloud, servers in Russia; internet required
SpeakFlowWindows, Web30 minutes of dictation per month, free forever690 ₽/mo (Personal (unlimited))rubles directlycloud (the data center country is not disclosed on the website) (not confirmed)
DiktuyWindows, macOS30 minutes of dictation per month, free forever239 ₽/mo (Profi (monthly equivalent when billed yearly)); 2870 ₽/yr (Profi (year, billed in full)); 479 ₽/mo (Max (monthly equivalent when billed yearly))rubles directly (not confirmed)cloud (the data center country is not disclosed on the website) (not confirmed)
TalkpadmacOS, Windows, Android2500 words/week on desktop, 1500 words/week on mobile, free forever; plus a 14-day Pro trial$6/mo (Pro (billed yearly, $72/yr)); $8/mo (Pro (monthly billing))unknown (not confirmed)cloud (the legal entity is registered in Australia; the website is hosted on Cloudflare; the exact location of the ASR servers is not disclosed in the privacy policy) (not confirmed)
VoistyWindows, macOS5 minutes of transcription (to judge the quality)$6.7/mo (Pro); $67/yr (Pro (year)); $99/one-time (Lifetime)Visa/Mastercard/Amex cards, PayPal; whether Russian cards are accepted is not stated (not confirmed)device (offline, local models such as Whisper Large V3 Turbo / NVIDIA Parakeet)
WhispeRuWindows7-day free trial (no card)290 ₽/mo (monthly license); 1990 ₽/yr (yearly license); 4990 ₽/one-time (lifetime license)rubles directly (payment via YooKassa)device (offline)
GigaTypeWindows, macOSfree with no limits: open source under the MIT license (Copyright (c) 2026 Disrupt Builders), all features are available without payment—not needed: there are no paid plansdevice (offline, Sber's GigaAM neural network)
MolviWindows, macOSfree forever, no accounts and no payment—not needed: the product is free; voluntary donations are accepted via Telegram Tribute or by card on the website, amounts are not fixeddevice (offline; best quality on an NVIDIA GPU, otherwise a fast model on the CPU)
LisprWindows, macOS60 minutes of dictation per week for free; the key features (push-to-talk, translation, dictionary, local history) always stay free, without an account$7.99/mo (Pro, monthly); $79/yr (Pro, yearly (from $44.90 with regional discounts))unknown (not confirmed)cloud (USA; recognition is done by Groq, Inc.)
v2txt.ruWindows, macOSStart plan: 2000 words/week0 ₽/n/a (all of Pro is free until the end of 2026 (the regular Pro/Premium price after 2026 is not published on the website))rubles directly (Visa, Mastercard, Mir cards and T-Bank are accepted)cloud (Russia) in online mode; offline mode processes on the device
TypelessWindows, macOS, iOS, Android8000 words per week (Free plan); new users get a 30-day Pro trial, then move to Free if they do not pay$12/mo (Pro billed yearly (effectively $144/yr)); $30/mo (Pro billed monthly)Visa/Mastercard cards; whether Russian cards are accepted is not statedcloud (the server country is not officially disclosed; the privacy policy only says 'processed in real time on our cloud servers') (not confirmed)

What Potok cannot do

Potok has limits of its own, and some of them are the exact opposite of the topic of the article: it has a free limit too, 2500 words per week on one device, and after that you need a paid plan. It has no offline mode at all: Potok is a cloud service, recognition runs on servers in Russia, and it does not work without an internet connection, unlike Molvi or Voisty, which process the voice locally and do not depend on the network.

Potok also has no apps for Android and iPhone, although some programs in the overview work on a phone. Potok does not do voice commands, voice editing of text, file transcription or translation between languages: it is pure dictation into the active field on Windows, macOS and Linux, with no extra features around recording. Other options are in the section on voice input programs.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a voice input program with no limit at all?

Yes, Molvi comes closest: a local program for Windows and macOS with no account, no limits and no mandatory payment; the developer lives on voluntary donations, not on a subscription.

Why do almost all free plans have a limit in minutes or words?

Because cloud speech recognition costs the developer money for every minute: without a limit a free plan would be unprofitable. There is usually no limit only where the voice is processed locally on the user's device, not on a server.

How much does the Pro subscription in Potok cost?

690 ₽ per month when paid monthly or 499 ₽ per month when paid for a whole year at once (5999 ₽ per year). Pro includes unlimited words, a personal dictionary of terms, voice snippets and priority support.

Is there a discount for paying for voice input a year ahead?

Yes, for many services the annual payment is cheaper than the monthly one. Potok Pro costs 690 ₽ per month when paid monthly or 5999 ₽ for a year, which is 499 ₽ per month. Wispr Flow is $15 per month when paid monthly or $144 for a year ($12 per month).

Is there free unlimited voice input?

The free plans of voice input services are usually limited by words or minutes per week or month (Potok: 2500 words per week). The built-in system tools are free without a limit: Win+H in Windows and macOS Dictation.

Which voice input services accept payment by a Russian card?

Not all: a number of foreign services take payment only in dollars, for example Wispr Flow on Windows and Mac has no standard payment by a Russian card. Potok accepts payment in rubles directly from a Russian card, which is one of the practical selection criteria for a Russian user.

How to start

Potok is available for Windows, macOS and Linux. For two weeks everything is open for free, after that 2500 words per week without paying. Potok is a cloud service: speech is recognized on servers in Russia, and it does not work without the internet.

Download Potok

You dictate in the app, and recordings and voice messages are transcribed by @potok_now_bot in Telegram. 60 minutes per month are free; the Potok subscription removes the limit in the bot and in the app.

Built-in dictation and Potok

Based on Microsoft and Apple help pages.
ToolWhere it worksRussian languageWhere speech is recognized
Windows voice typing (Win+H)Windows 10 and 11Windows 11 onlyMicrosoft cloud, does not work offline
macOS DictationmacOSyeson the device or on Apple servers
PotokWindows, macOS, Linuxprimary languagecloud, servers in Russia, does not work offline

Primary sources: speakflow.ru · speakflow.ru · speakflow.ru · blog.speakflow.ru

Mark Vesyoly — founder of Potok. Writes about Russian voice input: how to dictate in work apps, what gets in the way and how to fix it.
© Potok · Vladimir Olegovich Lipatnikov · INN 502915859701 · Public offer Comparisons · FAQ · About Free voice input · Voice input for AI chats · Data and Russian privacy law · Voice input on Mac · Bot plans · 14 days of Pro for a review