Krisp states 17 languages and 1 GB per uploaded file on the trial, while Potok covers about 30 languages and takes one file up to 2 GB. Both label speakers, but only Potok works as a Telegram bot; Krisp's public pages do not name one.
Transcribe a recording
Send your voice message, audio or video to @potok_now_bot on Telegram and the text comes back in the chat.
Open @potok_now_bot in Telegram
Files up to 2 GB · export to TXT, MD, DOCX, PDF, SRT and VTT · speaker labels and timestamps · about 30 languages
Key facts
- Krisp's 1 GB limit applies to each uploaded file on the trial; Potok accepts up to 2 GB and larger files go through the Upload button.
- Krisp transcripts can be copied, downloaded or exported, but the public pages do not name the formats; Potok lists six.
- Krisp's public pages do not say whether transcripts can be translated, and Potok offers no translation.
- Potok marks speakers as Speaker 1, Speaker 2 once labels are switched on, never with real names.
- Export formats: Krisp lists Copied, downloaded or exported; formats not named, and Potok lists TXT, MD, DOCX, PDF, SRT, VTT.
At a glance
| Krisp | Potok | |
|---|---|---|
| Recognition languages | 17 languages | About 30 |
| Translation of transcripts | Not stated on its public pages | Not available |
| Speaker labels | Yes | Yes, can be switched on |
| Export formats | Copied, downloaded or exported; formats not named | TXT, MD, DOCX, PDF, SRT, VTT |
| Telegram bot | Not stated on its public pages | Yes, @potok_now_bot |
| Largest file | 1 GB per uploaded file on the trial | Up to 2 GB |
Facts about Krisp come from its public pages and from third-party reviews. They can change; check the vendor's site before you decide.
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Where it works | Telegram bot @potok_now_bot; large files go through the bot's mini app |
| File size | Up to 2 GB |
| Export | TXT, MD, DOCX, PDF, SRT, VTT |
| Speakers and time | Speaker labels and timestamps can be switched on |
| Languages | About 30 languages with good published results; a few more with warnings |
| Translation | The transcript is not translated into another language |
| Dictation | A separate Potok desktop app lets you dictate text into any program; it recognises Russian speech |
Common mistakes when choosing
| Mistake | What happens | Fix |
|---|---|---|
| Ignoring the 1 GB cap on trial uploads | Long video files get rejected before any text appears. | Compare per-file limits against your largest recording first. |
| Assuming Krisp exports every format you need | Subtitle or document formats may be missing when you finish. | Ask which formats exist before committing to the tool. |
| Choosing by language count alone | A shorter list may still fit your language and your files. | Match your language and file size, then compare counts. |
| Expecting Krisp to translate transcripts | Its pages do not state translation, so you may lose time. | Treat translation as unconfirmed and check with the vendor. |
| Deciding from one line of the table alone | A strong line can hide a weak one that matters for your recording | Go through every row and mark the ones that are deal breakers for you |
More
See the full list of languages, the tools and the glossary.
Frequently asked questions
What is Krisp's per-file limit on the trial?
Krisp states 1 GB per uploaded file on the trial. Potok accepts a single file up to 2 GB.
Which export formats does Krisp offer?
Its public pages say text can be copied, downloaded or exported, without naming formats. Potok exports TXT, MD, DOCX, PDF, SRT and VTT.
Does Krisp label speakers like Potok does?
Yes, Krisp states speaker labels. Potok can switch them on and shows them as numbers such as Speaker 1.
Is there a way to use Potok from my phone chat?
Yes, open @potok_now_bot in Telegram, send the audio or video, and the transcript comes back in the same chat.
Which tool covers more languages, Krisp or Potok?
Krisp states 17 languages, Potok about 30 with good published results. Check that your own language appears on the list you pick.
What does the table say about largest file?
For Krisp it lists 1 GB per uploaded file on the trial, and for Potok it lists Up to 2 GB. Check the vendor page for the current wording before you decide.
Sources
Each source was opened by hand on the date shown. Pages change, so open the source if a detail matters to you.
- Krisp, official page, Krisp · checked
- Krisp, official page (krisp.ai), Krisp · checked
- Whisper speech recognition system (Wikipedia), Wikipedia · checked
Try it on your own recording
Send your voice message, audio or video to @potok_now_bot on Telegram and the text comes back in the chat.
Open @potok_now_bot in Telegram