Potok transcribes Russian speech; this site has been translated into English for convenience.
If you need a multilingual tool for 100+ languages with live translation and payment in dollars suits you, Talkpad is a good choice. If your working language is Russian, you are in Russia, and payment in rubles and data under 152-FZ matter, Potok (potok.now) is more practical. Their mechanics are the same; the fork is in payment, jurisdiction and Russian tuning.
Below, point by point and with no tricks: where Talkpad is really strong, what the downsides of its approach are for a user from Russia, and what Potok does in those places.
Where Talkpad is strong
Talkpad is built as a general-purpose multilingual engine: 100+ languages with auto-detection are stated, so you can speak different languages without switching the keyboard layout. A separate strong feature is real-time translation between languages: you dictate in one and get the text in another. There are clients for macOS, Windows and Android. The mechanics are classic and convenient: hold the hotkey, speak, the text lands at the cursor, and punctuation is added by itself. Behind the product stands a clear legal entity, illumentis Pty Ltd of Sydney with a registration number, which is a plus for trust in a foreign service.
The downside shows up where the user is from Russia: payment, data jurisdiction and Russian tuning. Let us take them in turn.
Can you pay for Talkpad from Russia?
This is the main open question. Talkpad's prices are in dollars: Pro costs $8 per month with monthly payment or $6 per month when paid for a year ($72 per year). Whether the service accepts Russian bank cards is not stated on the site. If you have no foreign card, check payment before you get used to the tool.
With Potok this is simple: payment by a Russian bank card in rubles, with no intermediaries and no currency conversion. Pro costs 690 ₽ per month or 499 ₽ per month when paid for a year. Nominally the subscriptions are comparable; the difference is that you can pay without leaving the Russian payment system.
Where the data sits: Australia or Russia
The company behind Talkpad is registered in Sydney. Where the recognition servers physically stand is not disclosed in the privacy policy (talkpad.ai/privacy). In any case it is a foreign service outside Russian jurisdiction. Pressing “we are more private” would be dishonest: the difference is not in privacy as such but in jurisdiction and compliance.
With Potok, data is in Russia, and there is a 152-FZ mode and an on-prem deployment, where data does not leave the company perimeter. For a private user this may not be critical. But for business, banks, government bodies and anyone who needs “data under Russian law”, it is a deciding point that Talkpad, by its geography, cannot cover.
Does Talkpad work in Russian?
Yes, Russian is on the list of supported languages. But Talkpad does not state a separate Russian model: for it Russian is one of a hundred, not a specialty. In practice this usually means a bit more manual editing where there are many Russian names, professional terms and English insertions in the middle of a Russian phrase.
Comparing accuracy in numbers here would be dishonest on both sides: independent measurements for Russian do not exist, and Talkpad gives no public measurements of its own. So claiming “X is more accurate than Y” in either direction is incorrect. All we can say is this: Potok has its own dedicated model made for Russian, and Talkpad has a general multilingual engine with auto-detection.
Platforms and the free limit
Here it is almost a tie. Talkpad works on macOS, Windows and Android. For free it gives 2500 words per week on desktop and 1500 words per week on mobile, plus 14 days of trial Pro.
Potok has clients for Windows, macOS and Linux and no mobile app. Free gives 2500 words per week on one device, and for the first 14 days full access to Pro is open with no card. If you need dictation on a phone, this is a point for Talkpad.
What Potok does in these places
Potok covers exactly the points where Talkpad's multilingual foreign approach is inconvenient for a user from Russia: payment, jurisdiction, language.
Russian is a specialty, not one language out of a hundred. Recognition is built on its own model tuned for Russian speech: names, terms, RU↔EN mixed together. We do not claim “more accurate than Talkpad specifically”, because there is no general independent measurement.
A cloud in Russia: an even response and data under the law. The heavy model runs on a server in Russia, and the local machine is barely loaded. Data stays in Russia, and for business there is a 152-FZ mode and on-prem. This is a different answer to the privacy question: not “the sound goes nowhere” but “data under Russian law and inside your perimeter”.
Payment in rubles. Free is 2500 words per week (as with Talkpad on desktop). Pro costs 690 ₽ per month or 499 ₽ per month when paid for a year, by a Russian bank card, with no foreign-currency cards. For the first 14 days there is full free access to Pro, with no card. There are clients for Windows and macOS.
Potok works as a familiar flow: hold the hotkey (Ctrl+Space), speak, release, and the text lands in the active field of any app (messengers, email, documents, IDE). There is a personal dictionary for your terms and snippets by voice. Potok is a cloud service, with recognition on servers in Russia; it does not work without the internet.
Table: Potok and Talkpad point by point
| Parameter | Potok | Talkpad |
|---|---|---|
| Payment from Russia | Rubles, a Russian card | Prices in dollars; acceptance of Russian bank cards not stated |
| Data jurisdiction | Servers in Russia; 152-FZ, on-prem for business | Company in Australia; where the servers stand is not disclosed; 152-FZ not stated |
| Russian language | Dedicated Russian model, handles RU↔EN | Multilingual auto-detect, no separate Russian model stated |
| Translation between languages | No (the specialty is dictation in Russian) | Yes, in real time, a strong side |
| Free limit | 2500 words/week, 1 device | 2500 words/week on desktop + 1500/week on mobile |
| Trial period | 14 days of full access with no card | 14 days of Pro |
| Pro price | 690 ₽/month (499 ₽/month for a year), in rubles | $8/month monthly or $6/month for a year ($72) |
| Platforms | Windows, macOS | macOS, Windows, Android |
| Vendor | An individual entrepreneur in Russia: contract, personal data, support in Russian | illumentis Pty Ltd, Sydney (Australia) |
The flow mechanics are the same for both and equally convenient. The difference is in who the tool is for: a multilingual service with translation and payment in dollars, or a Russian model with payment in rubles and data in Russia.
When to choose Talkpad
So that this does not look like an ad for one option. Talkpad is worth taking if you work in several languages and live translation between them matters to you, you need dictation on Android, payment in dollars suits you (you have a foreign card), and Russian is neither your only nor your main working language. In this setup Talkpad's multilingualism and translation are its real trumps, and there is no reason to change tools.
It makes sense to move to Potok when Russian has become your main working language, you are in Russia and need payment in rubles, and data under 152-FZ or on-prem for a company is important.
Frequently asked questions
Yes, Russian is among the stated 100+ languages with auto-detection. Talkpad does not state a separate Russian model. For Russian names, professional terms and RU↔EN mixed together, this usually means a bit more hand editing than with a tool that has a dedicated Russian model. There are no independent accuracy measurements for Russian, so we do not claim “who is more accurate”.
This is unknown. Talkpad's prices on the site are in dollars (Pro $8 per month or $6 per month when paid for a year), and acceptance of Russian bank cards is not stated. Before counting on a subscription, check the payment yourself. With Potok, payment is by a Russian bank card in rubles, with no intermediaries.
The company behind Talkpad, illumentis Pty Ltd, is registered in Sydney (Australia). Where the recognition servers stand is not disclosed on the site, but in any case it is a foreign service outside Russian jurisdiction, and a 152-FZ mode or on-prem is not stated for it. With Potok, data is in Russia, and there is a 152-FZ mode and on-prem for business, which matters for companies and government bodies.
There are three main differences, all about the Russian user. Payment: Potok takes rubles by a Russian bank card, Talkpad has prices in dollars and does not state acceptance of Russian cards. Data: Potok has servers in Russia and 152-FZ, Talkpad's company is in Australia and the place of the servers is not disclosed. Language: Potok has its own dedicated Russian model, Talkpad a multilingual auto-detect with no separate Russian model. Talkpad has its own strong side too: translation between languages in real time and an Android client.
On desktop it is a tie: both Potok and Talkpad give 2500 words per week for free. Talkpad also gives 1500 words per week on mobile, while Potok has no mobile client. The trial period for both is 14 days. So it is worth choosing by payment, data jurisdiction and Russian tuning, not by the limit.
Both work on Windows and macOS, and Talkpad on Android too. So the fork is not in the platform. If your working language is Russian and you need payment in rubles, Potok is more convenient. If you dictate in several languages and need live translation, that is a Talkpad scenario.
If you want to compare for yourself
Take one of your own tasks and dictate it in Potok. The first 14 days have no limits and need no card. Potok is a cloud service: speech is recognized on servers in Russia, and it does not work without the internet.
Download PotokExisting recordings are transcribed by Potok's Telegram bot @potok_now_bot: send a file or a YouTube, VK Video or RuTube link and the text arrives in the chat. The Potok subscription removes the limit in the bot too.
Built-in dictation and Potok
| Tool | Where it works | Russian language | Where speech is recognized |
|---|---|---|---|
| Windows voice typing (Win+H) | Windows 10 and 11 | Windows 11 only | Microsoft cloud, does not work offline |
| macOS Dictation | macOS | yes | on the device or on Apple servers |
| Potok | Windows, macOS, Linux | primary language | cloud, servers in Russia, does not work offline |
| Task | Characters | Typing (200 chars/min) | Voice (900 chars/min) |
|---|---|---|---|
| chat reply | 300 | 2 min | 0.5 min |
| 1500 | 8 min | 1.7 min | |
| post or meeting minutes | 4000 | 20 min | 4.4 min |
| article | 10000 | 50 min | 11.1 min |
Primary sources: support.microsoft.com · support.apple.com