Potok transcribes Russian speech; this site has been translated into English for convenience.
Voisty recognizes speech on the device with local models such as Whisper and Parakeet, without sending audio to a server. Russian is on its list of 90+ supported languages, but there is no public data on recognition quality for Russian, and the service does not say whether Russian cards are accepted. Potok (potok.now) works differently: a cloud model trained specifically for Russian speech, payment by a Russian bank card and 2500 words per week for free.
Voisty is sold as an offline transcriber with local models and a subscription in dollars, and for many people in Russia the questions start right there. The service does not explicitly list a Russian bank card among accepted payment methods, and of its 90+ claimed languages nothing is publicly known about the quality of Russian. Buying a subscription only to find that recognition mixes up terms and names is a common scenario with little-known multilingual models. Some people look for a replacement because of this; others simply because Voisty was not built in the first place for on-the-fly dictation, as opposed to transcribing finished recordings. Other options for dictation in Russian are collected in the section of alternatives to voice input.
Why people look for a Voisty replacement
The main reason is unverified Russian. Russian is formally on the list of 90+ supported languages, but the developer publishes no data on how Voisty handles Russian speech, terms and names. With general-purpose multilingual models, quality on less popular languages is often noticeably lower than on English, and the only way to find out whether that is the case here is to test your own text.
The second reason is payment. Voisty accepts Visa, Mastercard, Amex and PayPal cards, but nowhere says explicitly whether cards from Russian banks go through. For a user in Russia this is a risk of signing up for a subscription and getting a declined payment at the payment step, instead of knowing it in advance.
The third is transparency. The legal entity behind Voisty is not named in open sources. For a service that is trusted with voice recordings, the lack of a clear legal entity is a reason to be more cautious than with an ordinary text app.
Finally, check the use case itself. The Voisty free plan is described as “5 minutes of transcription to evaluate quality”, a wording closer to a one-off transcription of a finished recording than to constant dictation into work fields all day. If the second scenario is what you need, first make sure that Voisty is about it at all, and not about a neighboring task.
| Service | Platforms | Free | Price | Payment from Russia | Where speech is recognized |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Potok | Windows, macOS, Linux | Free: 2500 words per week; full access for the first 14 days, no card needed | Pro 690 ₽/mo, 499 ₽/mo when paid yearly | Russian bank cards, rubles | cloud, servers in Russia; internet required |
| SpeakFlow | Windows, Web | 30 minutes of dictation per month, free forever | 690 ₽/mo (Personal (unlimited)) | rubles directly | cloud (the data center country is not disclosed on the website) (not confirmed) |
| Diktuy | Windows, macOS | 30 minutes of dictation per month, free forever | 239 ₽/mo (Profi (monthly equivalent when billed yearly)); 2870 ₽/yr (Profi (year, billed in full)); 479 ₽/mo (Max (monthly equivalent when billed yearly)) | rubles directly (not confirmed) | cloud (the data center country is not disclosed on the website) (not confirmed) |
| Talkpad | macOS, Windows, Android | 2500 words/week on desktop, 1500 words/week on mobile, free forever; plus a 14-day Pro trial | $6/mo (Pro (billed yearly, $72/yr)); $8/mo (Pro (monthly billing)) | unknown (not confirmed) | cloud (the legal entity is registered in Australia; the website is hosted on Cloudflare; the exact location of the ASR servers is not disclosed in the privacy policy) (not confirmed) |
| Voisty | Windows, macOS | 5 minutes of transcription (to judge the quality) | $6.7/mo (Pro); $67/yr (Pro (year)); $99/one-time (Lifetime) | Visa/Mastercard/Amex cards, PayPal; whether Russian cards are accepted is not stated (not confirmed) | device (offline, local models such as Whisper Large V3 Turbo / NVIDIA Parakeet) |
| WhispeRu | Windows | 7-day free trial (no card) | 290 ₽/mo (monthly license); 1990 ₽/yr (yearly license); 4990 ₽/one-time (lifetime license) | rubles directly (payment via YooKassa) | device (offline) |
| GigaType | Windows, macOS | free with no limits: open source under the MIT license (Copyright (c) 2026 Disrupt Builders), all features are available without payment | — | not needed: there are no paid plans | device (offline, Sber's GigaAM neural network) |
| Molvi | Windows, macOS | free forever, no accounts and no payment | — | not needed: the product is free; voluntary donations are accepted via Telegram Tribute or by card on the website, amounts are not fixed | device (offline; best quality on an NVIDIA GPU, otherwise a fast model on the CPU) |
| Lispr | Windows, macOS | 60 minutes of dictation per week for free; the key features (push-to-talk, translation, dictionary, local history) always stay free, without an account | $7.99/mo (Pro, monthly); $79/yr (Pro, yearly (from $44.90 with regional discounts)) | unknown (not confirmed) | cloud (USA; recognition is done by Groq, Inc.) |
| v2txt.ru | Windows, macOS | Start plan: 2000 words/week | 0 ₽/n/a (all of Pro is free until the end of 2026 (the regular Pro/Premium price after 2026 is not published on the website)) | rubles directly (Visa, Mastercard, Mir cards and T-Bank are accepted) | cloud (Russia) in online mode; offline mode processes on the device |
| Typeless | Windows, macOS, iOS, Android | 8000 words per week (Free plan); new users get a 30-day Pro trial, then move to Free if they do not pay | $12/mo (Pro billed yearly (effectively $144/yr)); $30/mo (Pro billed monthly) | Visa/Mastercard cards; whether Russian cards are accepted is not stated | cloud (the server country is not officially disclosed; the privacy policy only says 'processed in real time on our cloud servers') (not confirmed) |
What to check in a replacement
Before paying for a new subscription, it makes sense to settle a few questions in advance.
- Test Russian recognition on your own text with real terms and names, not on a generic phrase from an advertisement, especially if the language is claimed “on a list” and not as a core one.
- Find out the payment method from Russia in advance, not at the moment of the charge: whether a Russian bank card works directly or an intermediary is needed.
- Look for open information about the service's legal entity: how clearly it states who processes your voice recordings and on what basis.
- Define your use case: dictation on the fly straight into a work field or transcription of ready audio and video recordings. These are different tasks, and not every program is equally good at both.
- Compare offline and cloud options for your task: a local model does not send audio to a server, but it needs computer resources and is not always updated as quickly as a cloud one.
- Check whether there is a personal dictionary for the terms and names that a general multilingual model usually mixes up most often.
- Compare the payment model (monthly, yearly or a one-time license) and work out which is cheaper at your dictation volume, not by the price on the home page.
- Check the platforms: whether you need a version for Windows, macOS or both at once, if you work on different computers.
| Service | Platforms | Free | Price | Payment from Russia | Where speech is recognized |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Potok | Windows, macOS, Linux | Free: 2500 words per week; full access for the first 14 days, no card needed | Pro 690 ₽/mo, 499 ₽/mo when paid yearly | Russian bank cards, rubles | cloud, servers in Russia; internet required |
| Voisty | Windows, macOS | 5 minutes of transcription (to judge the quality) | $6.7/mo (Pro); $67/yr (Pro (year)); $99/one-time (Lifetime) | Visa/Mastercard/Amex cards, PayPal; whether Russian cards are accepted is not stated (not confirmed) | device (offline, local models such as Whisper Large V3 Turbo / NVIDIA Parakeet) |
Who Potok will not suit instead of Voisty
Potok will not replace Voisty in its main task, transcribing ready audio and video recordings: Potok recognizes only what you say right now, during dictation, and does not work with files at all. Nor will it suit those for whom offline is essential: Potok is a cloud service, recognition runs on servers in Russia, and it does not work without the internet, unlike Voisty's local models. A program with fully offline recognition in Russian is covered in the comparison of GigaType and Potok.
Multilingual support is not general either: Potok is tuned for Russian speech and mixed Russian-English text, not for the whole list of 90-odd languages at once. If you need to speak a third or fourth language in the same program, that is not what Potok is for.
Frequently asked questions
Formally yes: Russian is on the list of 90+ supported languages, but the developer does not publish any data on recognition quality for Russian specifically. It is worth testing on your own text rather than relying on the general list.
This is not stated anywhere: the service accepts Visa, Mastercard, Amex and PayPal, but whether a card from a Russian bank works is not specified. Check this before paying.
Voisty prices are given in dollars (Pro is 6.7 $ per month or 67 $ per year, Lifetime is 99 $); acceptance of Russian cards is not confirmed.
Voisty is available on: Windows, macOS.
Voisty paid plans: Pro is 6.7 $ per month or 67 $ per year; Lifetime is a one-time 99 $.
The Voisty free plan works like this: 5 minutes of transcription (to evaluate quality).
Check it in one evening
Install Potok, dictate what you usually type and compare. 14 days of full access, no card needed. Potok is a cloud service: speech is recognized on servers in Russia, and it does not work without the internet.
Download PotokExisting recordings are transcribed by Potok's Telegram bot @potok_now_bot: send a file or a YouTube, VK Video or RuTube link and the text arrives in the chat. The Potok subscription removes the limit in the bot too.
Primary sources: voisty.com · voisty.com